New Zealand Rippa Rugby Champions

posted Nov 12, 2017, 7:22 PM by Steve Berezowski   [ updated Nov 12, 2017, 7:32 PM by Jamie Kelly ]
Te Wharau are the NZ Rippa Rugby Champions for 2017. The team travel to Wellington to represent Poverty Bay/East Coast Rugby Union and play against all the other regional winners.

In section play TW beat Waiarapara Bush, Canterbury and Wellington and drew with Auckland to qualify second. The next day the played and beat South Canterbury in the quarter finals and Counties, who won the competition three times in the past, in the semis. They then meet North Harbour in the finals and beat them 25 to 20. What a fantastic achievement by this team. Special thanks are extended to Duanne Hihi who gave up a lot of time to coach this team.
Jamie Kelly,
Nov 12, 2017, 7:32 PM